Contact Information

Non-Emergency 24 Hr Phone:

Law Enforcement Center
105 5th Street SW
PO Box 57
Hampton, Iowa 50441

Administrative Office Hours:
8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Monday - Friday
Administrative Office  Phone:
Fax: 641-456-2216

Aaron Dodd

Chief Deputy
Stephen Bardole

Administrative Staff


  • Rick Rieken
  • Josh Einspahr
  • Ben Baskerville
  • Sam Cain
  • Calen Holman
  • Chase Weinandy 

The Franklin County Sheriff and Sheriff's Deputies are the police force for residents of the unincorporated areas of the county, and by contract, provide law enforcement for the cities of Alexander, Coulter, Dows, Geneva, Hansell, Latimer, and Popejoy. The Sheriff's Office handles all routine and emergency calls for these areas and regularly patrols all areas of the county. The office of Sheriff is an elected office.

Mission Statement

The general duties of the sheriff include (but are not limited to):

  • Investigations
  • Law enforcement services
  • Execute and return all writs and other legal processes issued to the sheriff by legal authority
  • Have charge of the county jail and custody of the prisoners committed to the jail
  • See other duties in Chapter 331 Code of Iowa

Please click on the links below to learn more about the services and duties of the Sheriff's Office.